Khandker Nurul Habib

Selected Professional Appointments

Percy Edward Hart Professor in Civil and Mineral Engineering
Professor, Department of Civil and Mineral Engineering, University of Toronto
Associate Director, Data Management Group (DMG)

Prof. Habib head shot
Khandker Nurul Habib

Professor Khandker Nurul Habib is leading the research programs in sustainable transportation planning, demand modelling and travel survey methods (the Travel Demand Modelling Group: TDMG) at the University of Toronto Transportation Research Institute.  He has extensive research and consulting experience in transportation engineering and planning.

Professor Nurul Habib’s overall research focus is sustainable transportation planning and policy development. For this, he recognizes that we need a clear understanding of peoples’ transportation behaviour and appropriate methodology for capturing such behaviour while forecasting demand for transportation infrastructure or results of any transportation and land use policies.

For his pioneering contributions in these areas, he has received a number of national and international awards. These include the Eric Pass Award (honorable mention) from the International Association of Travel Behavior Research; Pyke Johnson Award from Transportation Research Board; Early Researcher Award from the Ministry of Economic Development and Innovation, Ontario; Minister’s Award of Excellent in Process Innovation from the Alberta Ministry of Transportation; Percy Edward Hart Professorship from the University of Toronto Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering; and CSCE’s Sanford Fleming Award.

Professor Habib servers as an Editorial Adviser to the journal Transportation, Transportmetrica A, an Editor of the journal Transportation Research Record and an Associate Editor of the journal Transportation Letters. He is a member of two standing Committees of Transportation Research Board (TRB): “AEP30: Travel Behavior and Values,” and “AEP50: Travel Demand Forecasting.” He served on the committee “ADB20: ICT and Transportation” for 10 years (2010 to 2020). He served as the Committee Research Coordinator (CRR) and Paper Review Coordinator of AEP30 (formerly ADB10) for five years (2016 to 2021). He is the current chair of “AEP30: Travel Behavior and Values.”

Specialty Focus Areas

Sustainable Transportation Planning; Travel Demand Modelling; Choice Modelling; Travel Behaviour and Activity-Based Modelling; Integrated Land Use and Transportation Modelling; Survey Design, Stated Preference (SP) Experiment; Transport Policy and Transport Economics; Transportation in Developing Countries.

Phone: (416) 946-8027